Rivier University’s Smashers are the cricket champions of TPL 2016 with an unbeaten record throughout the tournament

Rivier University President Sister Paula Marie Buley, IHM, stands proudly with team Smashers student-athletes celebrating their 2016 TPL Cricket Tournament Championship.

Telugu Premier League 2016 IV edition was held in Nashua, New Hampshire on 5 grounds simultaneously on 14 of August 2016. The Smashers competed with 15 other cricket teams in TPL_2016logothe tournament, which attracted over 160 cricketers who competed in sweltering heat of over 93 degrees.

“This is an historic moment for Rivier University—our first cricket championship win,” says Sister Paula Marie Buley, IHM, Rivier’s President. “We are incredibly proud of these student-athletes and congratulate them on their athletic and academic accomplishments.”

Kalidas Surapaneni, in charge of the sports committee of Telugu Association of Greater Boston (TAGB) that conducted the tournament, summarized the highlights:

“Smashers won the 4th edition of TPL. On their way to finals, Smashers beat tough, young teams like Swingers and Rebels, who played lights-out cricket too. Biryani Boys gave Smashers a tough fight in the round robin, but Smashers defended their score of 36.
“Smashers were joined by Jagat Khiladeelu in the finals. Jagat beat the Rebels by one run in a nail-biting quarters and had a convincing win in the semi-finals again Jai Mahismati, another team which performed out of their skin with a last ball six win against last year’s champion Titans in the quarters.

“In the finals Smashers scored 47 in their 6 overs largely due to 3 massive sixers, the only 5-6 bad balls bowled by the Jagat in the entire knockouts, but bad balls need to be dispatched and Smashers did it in style. Jagat had a bad start chasing down 47 and by the middle of 3rd over, they lost 4 major wickets without even reaching double figures. Smashers had their tails up and were bowling menacingly, and at one time Jagat were staring at a sub-par score. However, the lower order of Jagat hit some lusty blows and provided some entertainment to reach 38.”

The Smashers emerged victorious, the only team to have won all five of its tournament matches. Thondaladinne Pedda Basha, a Rivier M.S. in Computer Science candidate, was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player for his all-round performance with his bat, bowling and fielding.

Team captains include General Captain Krishna Reddy Akula, Captain Kaushik Reddy Kancharla, and Vice Captain Rithish Reddy Katpally. The team thanks the Office of Global Engagement staff, and specifically Director of International Student Services Dey Barriga, for their moral and financial support to participate in the TPL. “Playing for Rivier has given me and team Smashers great pleasure,” says Kaushik Reddy Kancharla. “Winning for Rivier is a proud moment for us.”

SmashersOGEThe Rivier University, Telugu Association of Greater Boston, and Telugu Premier League communities offered congratulations to the Rivier Smashers on their championship win. Each team member received an individual trophy, and the tournament cup is on display in the Office of Global Engagement.

Rivier University is a Catholic institution recognized for distinctive academic programs, offering many of the region’s leading programs at the undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, and doctoral levels. With Nashua as our home and the world as our classroom, the Rivier experience ensures that students develop leadership skills as well as an awareness and appreciation of diverse cultures in New England and around the world.

Note: The Telugu Association of Greater Boston is a most prestigious regional community organization with over 1,000 members and is affiliated to another prestigious and leading Indian community association Telugu Association of North America, which has a membership of over 10,000.

TAGB annually conducts a limited overs cricket league Telugu Premier League (TPL) which is very popular and attracts players and teams from 5 New England states: Vermont, Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island.